Ellen's Run, event, southampton
27east.com
southamptons, jewelry, hamptons

GEOFF DISSTON: VIEWS OF POOLS AND HEDGEROWS

when:
  • Tue, Aug 14, 2018 10:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • Wed, Aug 15, 2018 10:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • more dates
  • Thu, Aug 16, 2018 10:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • Fri, Aug 17, 2018 10:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • Sat, Aug 18, 2018 10:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • Sun, Aug 19, 2018 10:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • Mon, Aug 20, 2018 10:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • Tue, Aug 21, 2018 10:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • Wed, Aug 22, 2018 10:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • Thu, Aug 23, 2018 10:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • Fri, Aug 24, 2018 10:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • Sat, Aug 25, 2018 10:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • Sun, Aug 26, 2018 10:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • Mon, Aug 27, 2018 10:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • Tue, Aug 28, 2018 10:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • Wed, Aug 29, 2018 10:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • Thu, Aug 30, 2018 10:00 AM-5:00 PM
  • Fri, Aug 31, 2018 10:00 AM-5:00 PM
where:
Quogue Library
90 Quogue Street
Quogue
details:
Quogue Library Announces August Gallery Artist GEOFF DISSTON: VIEWS OF POOLS AND HEDGEROWS Reception: Thursday, August 2, 5:00 – 7:00 p.m. Geoff Disston was trained in watercolors by his family of plein air watercolorists. Taking a cue from his watercolor training, Geoff started to apply watered down acrylics on raw canvas in the late 90’s. Staining raw canvas with acrylic washes allows for deeper color saturation, subtle color interactions through the transparencies, and sketch-like freshness. Like watercolors, this technique demands a “once and done” approach, limiting the number of paint layers, and using the “white” of the canvas for both negative space and light. The series on view is based on the pools and hedgerows of the Hamptons and Palm Beach. They are intentionally spare to focus on the geometry, light, and color relationships. Disston’s paintings are in collections in Quogue, New York City, Philadelphia, Northeast Harbor, and London. Margot Carr and Graham Russell chair this show which will be on exhibit from July 30 – September 2.
contact information: