WELCOME GUEST  |  LOG IN
Mini Coop, Southampton, dealership
27east.com

TAKEOVER! Artists in Residence – Curated by Amy Ki

when:
  • Sat, Feb 16, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Sun, Feb 17, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • more dates
  • Mon, Feb 18, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Tue, Feb 19, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Wed, Feb 20, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Thu, Feb 21, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Fri, Feb 22, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Sat, Feb 23, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Sun, Feb 24, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Mon, Feb 25, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Tue, Feb 26, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Wed, Feb 27, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Thu, Feb 28, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Fri, Mar 01, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Sat, Mar 02, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Sun, Mar 03, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Mon, Mar 04, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Tue, Mar 05, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Wed, Mar 06, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Thu, Mar 07, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Fri, Mar 08, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Sat, Mar 09, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Sun, Mar 10, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Mon, Mar 11, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Tue, Mar 12, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Wed, Mar 13, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Thu, Mar 14, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Fri, Mar 15, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Sat, Mar 16, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Sun, Mar 17, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Mon, Mar 18, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Tue, Mar 19, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Wed, Mar 20, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Thu, Mar 21, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Fri, Mar 22, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Sat, Mar 23, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
  • Sun, Mar 24, 2019 12:00 PM-6:00 PM
where:
Southampton Art Center
25 Jobs Lane
Southampton
details:
TAKEOVER! Artists in Residence – Curated by Amy Kirwin February 9-March 24, 2019 Public Opening Reception: Saturday, February 9 | 5-7 PM | FREE TAKEOVER artists include Scott Bluedorn, Daniel Cabrera, Darlene Charneco, Kara Hoblin, Ruby Jackson, Laurie Lambrecht, Jerome Lucani, Paton Miller, and Jeff Muhs. PLUS HANDOFF: WEAVING IN SPACE Conceived by Christine Sciulli and Bastienne Schmidt For seven weeks in the winter of 2019 Southampton Arts Center will hand over its galleries to nine East End artists, each with an assigned space to set up a “pop-up” studio. Completed works will be installed and the artists will have scheduled weekly studio time in the galleries from Thursday to Sunday, 12-6 PM to create new works in a wide variety of mediums. A schedule will be posted online each week so the public can plan visits accordingly. This gives guests the opportunity to visit repeatedly to view the progress of new works. It is both encouraged and anticipated that the TAKEOVER! artists will also collaborate organically during the course of their residencies. There will be workshops for all ages, intimate gallery tours, and unique programs inspired by the artists and their works in progress. Additionally, a weekly “hangout” will take place every Thursday from 6-8 PM where community can come and spend the evening with the artists, play ping pong, have a drink, socialize, and watch the creative process at play. CHECK BACK FOR WEEKLY ARTIST GALLERY HOURS. In addition to the “pop-up” studios, the entrance gallery will include Handoff: Weaving in Space. This site-specific project, conceived by Christine Sciulli and Bastienne Schmidt, takes on the tradition of the Exquisite Corpse as a collaborative action drawing-in-space, constructed and manufactured in-situ with ropes, threads and textiles. Referencing the drawing-in-space tradition of Eva Hesse, Sheila Hicks, and Fred Sandback, invited artists will engage their own practice in a ricocheting handoff to create a three-dimensional drawing – weaving and subsuming their contributions during the seven weeks of the exhibition to generate a large-scale spatial installation completed by the show’s closing. This piece invites discussion of conventional notions of authorship to explore the contemporary necessity of collective making. “Handoff” artists include Louise Eastman, LoVid, Sabra Moon Elliot, Saskia Friedrich, Toni Ross, Bastienne Schmidt, Christine Sciulli, Morgana Tetherow-Keller, Virva Hinnemo, and Almond Zigmund
contact information:
Amy Kirwin
akirwin@southamptoncenter.org
(631) 283-0967
Price: 5