carpetman, hamptons, flooring

Hamptons Life

Oct 18, 2011 9:14 AMPublication: The East Hampton Press & The Southampton Press

HIFF Audience Winners Announced

Oct 18, 2011 9:41 AM

On Sunday, the Hamptons International Film Festival announced its audience, jury and special prizes during an awards ceremony at Guild Hall in East Hampton.

For features, “The Artist,” directed by Michel Hazanavicius, took the Audience Award Narrative. For documentaries, “Hard Times: Lost On Long Island,” directed by Marc Levin, earned the Audience Award Documentary.

“The Fairy,” directed by Dominique Abel and Fiona Gordon, was selected by the jury as the winner of The Golden Starfish Narrative Feature Award. The Golden Starfish Award for Best Documentary went to Fellipe Barbosa’s “Laura.”

Mark Jackson’s “Without” earned The Kodak Award for Best Cinematography in the Narrative category, and The Wouter Barendrecht Pioneering Vision Award.

The Narrative Jury awarded special jury mentions to “The Forgiveness Of Blood” by Joshua Marston and to “Vodka Factory” by Jerzy Sladkowski.

“You’ve Been Trumped,” by Anthony Baxter took the Victor Rabinowitz and Joanne Grant Award for Social Justice.

Directors Jim and Tom Isler won the Audience Award Winner for Best Short with “Two’s A Crowd.” “The Strange Ones,” directed by Christopher Radcliff and Lauren Wolkstein, was the Short Documentary Jury Winner.

Previously announced winners included: Annie Howell’s and Lisa Robinson’s “Small, Beautifully Moving Parts,” which earned The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation’s Feature Film Prize; and Lee Hirsch’s “The Bully Project,” which earned the Brizzolara Family Foundation Award for a Film of

Conflict and Resolution.

The 2011 Breakthrough Performer Recipients were Emily Browning for “Sleeping Beauty,” Alexander Skarsgard for “Melancholia,” Stine Fischer Christensen for “Cracks In The Shell,” Ezra Miller for “Another Happy Day,” Shailene Woodley for “The Descendants” and Anton Yelchin for “Like Crazy.”

Award presenters included Bill McCuddy, Penelope Ann Miller, James Cromwell, John Anderson, Lisa Schwarzbaum, Joe Neumaier and David Fear. Participating jurors included Sherry Dobbin, Jay Van Hoy and Michelle Carey.

For more information about the 2011 Hamptons International Film Festival, visit hamptonsfilmfest.org.

You've read 1 of 7 free articles this month.

Already a subscriber? Sign in

southamptonfest, hamptons funraiser, southampton rotary